Ballon d’Or 2019 Live

Ballon d’Or 2019 Live: Most believe the soccer superstars are the leading contenders for the 2019 Ballon d’Or award, which France Football will announce Monday in Paris at a ceremony. All you need to know about the 64th edition of the Ballon d’Or live streaming, TV telecast, nominees, date, time and continue reading “Ballon d’Or 2019 Live”

Ballon d’Or 2019 live

The Ballon d’Or ceremony is scheduled to get underway at 7.30pm at Paris’ Theatre du Chatelet. So we’ve got about 90 minutes to argue about the order of the top 30, watch the stars arrive on the red carpet and reminisce on how exactly Michael Owen took the prize in 2001.

Lionel Messi is the overwhelming favourite to win a sixth Ballon d’Or at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris tonight.

The Barcelona star leads a 30-man shortlist, with Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo expected to finish on the podium. There is no place for last year’s winner Luka Modric, though his Real Madrid team-mates Karim Benzema and Eden Hazard are in the running.

Van Dijk is one of seven names from Liverpool, while Manchester City have five nomineees, Tottenham two and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is the sole representative from Arsenal.

When is the Ballon d’Or?

The ceremony is set to take place on Monday, December 2 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. The red carpet will begin from 4pm UK time with the ceremony set to start at 7.30pm.

You can follow tonight’s ceremony LIVE on Standard Sport.

Can’t see the Ballon d’Or 2019 shortlist, live stream date and time blog? Click here to access our desktop page.

How to follow the Ballon d’Or

There is no UK television broadcaster but Standard Sport will bring you live coverage of the event.

What is the Ballon d’Or and how does it differ from the Fifa Best Awards?

The Ballon d’Or was first conceived by France Football writer Gabriel Hanot in 1956 but prior to 1995 the award, voted for by football journalists, was confined to Europe. Liberia striker George Weah won in his first year of eligibility but is currently the only player from outside Europe or South America to win the prize.

Between 1991 and 2010 Fifa had its own World Player of the Year prize but for the five subsequent years the governing body and France Football jointly awarded the Ballon d’Or.

This partnership ended in 2016, after which Fifa began a ceremony named The Best Football Awards.

Past Ballon d’Or winners

Ronaldo and Messi share the record for most Ballon d’Or wins with five, while the Juventus star has one more second-placed finish than his rival. Messi has one third-place to his name.

Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten have all won the prize three times whilst Kevin Keegan is the only English player to have won it more than once, taking the crown in 1978 and 1979.

Barcelona and Real Madrid have the most Ballon d’Or wins (11 each). Juventus and AC Milan players have won the prize eight times.

Manchester United (Denis Law, Bobby Charlton, George Best, Cristiano Ronaldo), Liverpool (Michael Owen) and Blackpool (inaugural winner Stanley Matthews) are the only English clubs who have fielded Ballon d’Or winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *